Martial Law Declared In Wildomar;….

 

 

…SORT OF

However, this obviously satirical suggestion does not arise from the misguided CERT activation of two days ago (see the Wildomar Magazine article just below), it arises from the hysterical “over-the-top” official conduct of Wildomar’s City Manager/Security Guard, Gary Nordquist.

On Wednesday, I drove to the Wildomar Cemetery parking lot to record, by photograph, the unloading of various trees and shrubs intended for installation by the proposed 500 volunteers on Saturday, October 26, 2013.

My intentions for for doing so, as one of the few remaining, viable media outlets (and the sole outlet for political commentary), was to obtain a permanent record of the type and kind of plants to be used, in light of some concerns that the improper selection of certain plants would be harmful to Wildomar park/flood basin environment (especially Heritage Regency Park/detention basin).

As I drove my vehicle through the open gate onto the Wildomar Cemetery District parking lot, I was suddenly confronted by Wildomar’s version of Mayberry’s finest, as City Manager Gary Gary Nordquist emerged from the rear of a delivery truck, walking vigorously to where I was now stopped. With both arms outstretched, and the palm’s of his hands elevated in my direction, it was obvious that “Barney” wanted me to put my vehicle in reverse.

When he approached the open window of my vehicle, a rather robust discussion ensued, as Barney demanded that I exit the premises immediately.

However, I objected to his demand, as there was no legal basis for doing so, as the Cemetery parking lot is public property and was obviously being used by other members of the community. 

Barney then argued that the Wildomar City Council had declared that its three parks were “closed to the public,” as of October 17, 2013, in preparation for the Great Day of Service.

I immediately retorted that the Cemetery District parking lot was not included in the Council agenda item and, as a result, Barney could not legally restrict public access merely on his “say-so,” without there being a compelling reason to do so, such as some unforeseen type of “civil disaster.” (The unloading of small shrubs by several women, one in high heels, would not qualify).

Rather than continue the ongoing debate, I chose instead to depart the Cemetery parking lot, abandoning my legitimate argument along with my previous high regard for Nordquist as a city manager in the process.

Unfortunately, the municipal degradation of the City of Wildomar, from that of a heroically struggling city to one focused only on its parks, does not bode well for Wildomar’s future.

Comments can be made to zakturango@excite.com.

Comments are closed.

