Remembering “Sister Taylor”….

…. TRULY A “ONE-OF-A-KIND” WOMAN

On occasion, I pull back the curtain of my former life and reveal the things that are meaningful to me.

Without a doubt, Mary Frances Taylor and her husband, Orvel Taylor impacted my early life, infusing it with their best understanding of how to spend a lifetime in pastoral ministry.

If there is such a category in life as “spiritual mother and father,” Brother and Sister Taylor would be those.

As with anything in life, there is some good; some not so good. That being said, the recent passing away of “Sister” Taylor, as we who grew up and were raised in the traditional Pentecostal way referred to adult women in the church, brings me to a momentary pause in the daily activities in my life, in order to reflect on hers.

To help me do that, indulge me if you will, and click on the following link, which is a video presentation from their retirement in 1997:

 http://vimeo.com/20524114

I find that, as I age and still being in gradual recovery from the physical effects of my stroke, that I am permitting myself to mellow with the gift of age and to go back and revisit events in my life, in order to recover and retain some of the “good things” that were always there but may have been obscured by the anger and passions that often linger from “middle of life” adversity.

Mary Frances Taylor was a talented Gospel singer, an effervescent personality who was as close to being a “liberated woman” as a conservative Pentecostal organization would permit in the 1960s and 1970s.

Since the organization evolved out of Amy Semple McPherson’s Foursquare Church, it is likely that McPherson was somewhat of a role model for Sister Taylor, dynamic and outgoing, a “presence” on a church platform. Like Amy, for years, she wore a white uniform while on the platform.

Thank you for your brief indulgence.

Parody, satire, opinion and commentary are likely to return momentarily.

Comments can be made to zakturango@excite.com.

As an aside, for those accidental future visitors to Wildomar Magazine, and who may have known me as “Brother” Gil Rasmussen, I am attaching a link to the Memorial video, as follows:

https://vimeo.com/27112881

Comments are closed.

